Brooklyn-by-way-of-Detroit rapper Amir Obe made things official with Def Jam today when he revealed on Twitter that he had inked a deal with the label. “To contribute to a legacy & brand that has created history with some of my favorite artists is a blessing. Def Jam prides itself on authenticity & I couldn’t have found a better home,” he told Billboard. Obe will release his debut album through the label sometime in 2017. 

In celebration, he also dropped the video for his track “No Peace.” The dark visual cuts between fleeting shots of Obe and a series of anime clips. Obe wanders the shadowy streets of the city, playing pool, lighting up, and hitting up the bodega. “I wanted to capture the vibe of “No Peace” visually, and I think we executed providing a journey, a sense of no looking back,” he said to Billboard. “We kept it minimal to allow you, the viewer to create your own narrative.”

“No Peace” will appear on Def Jam’s upcoming compilation album Direct Deposit Vol 1

Watch the video for Amir Obe’s “No Peace” above, and check out the track list for Direct Deposit Vol. 1 below, featuring Pusha T, Desiigner, Dave East, 2 Chainz, Drake and more.

1. 2 Chainz ft. Drake “Big Amount”

2. Pusha T “Circles”

3. YG “One Time Comin”

4. Desiigner “Tiimmy Turner Remix”

5. Lajan Slim “Haitians”

6. Dave East “Stove Top”

7. YG “I Wanna Benz”

8. Amir Obe “No Peace”

9. Trap Beckham “Going Down”

10. 070 Shake “Trust Nobody” 

Source link